November 15, 2023

Charlotte M. Brantley Teacher of the Year, Stephany Hurst

Charlotte M. Brantley Teacher of the Year, Stephany Hurst






(Charlotte Brantley, left, and Elsa Holguin, President and CEO of the Denver Preschool Program, right, congratulate Stephany Hurst, the 2023 Charlotte M. Brantley Teacher of the Year, at Taste of Clayton). 




Clayton proudly congratulates Stephany Hurst as the inaugural recipient of the Charlotte M. Brantley Teacher of the Year Award. Stephany’s dedication to her craft propelled her to the top of a long list of exceptional Clayton educators nominated for this prestigious new recognition.

Stephany has built a stellar 39-year career in early childhood education, including the past ten years as a valued member of Clayton’s professional team of educators. Her nurturing spirit and boundless optimism working with toddlers as a lead teacher have earned the admiration and respect of parents and colleagues alike.

“I love working with children and families,” commented Hurst. “Not only do the children learn, but we also learn from them. Working with children is rewarding and the best job in the world.”

The award’s namesake, Charlotte Brantley, is a former Clayton President and CEO. Before retiring in 2019, Brantley earned a national reputation as a leader in the field of early childhood education, honing her expertise over a distinguished 40-year career.

The award was presented by Brantley and Elsa Holguin, president and CEO of the Denver Preschool Program, at the Taste of Clayton event held in early September. Clayton also honored two finalists for their exemplary work in the classroom, Tran Nguyen and Eva Pasterkamp.

“This award recognizes the extraordinary work of Stephany and all of our hard-working teachers, and it’s only fitting that in doing so, we honor Charlotte’s legacy of excellence,” said William Browning, Clayton’s current President and CEO, during the event. “It’s an opportunity to elevate the importance of teachers and inspire other educators and stakeholders in our community to prioritize and invest in the early development of our youngest learners.”

Return To List